About

The Social Concerns Committee was formed in 1977 as a subcommittee of the Phoenixville Council of Churches.  The name Phoenixville Area Social Concerns Committee was adopted in 2012.

Our Mission: “The Phoenixville Area Social Concerns Committee promotes social justice and community harmony throughout the Greater Phoenixville community in the spirit of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., through direct action and relevant events.”

Our Membership:

Member Affiliation Email
Barbara Armour Bethel Baptist Church bcljma626@yahoo.com
Dr. Louis J. Beccaria Phoenixville Community Health Foundation ljbeccaria@juno.com
Joyce Chester Chester County Opportunities Industrialization Center jchester@cc-oic.org
Don Coppedge, Founder Grimes African Methodist Episcopal Church
Mark King Exley, Chair At Large MKExley@aol.com
Dr. Alan D. Fegley Phoenixville Area School District fegleya@pasd.k12.pa.us
Nina Guzman Alianzas de Phoenixville ninaguzman300@gmail.com
Gwynne Hagee, Corresp. Sec’y Diversity In Action gwynnehagee@verizon.net
Fern Heit Valley Forge United Methodist Church FernH729@aol.com
Kris Keller, Financial Sec’y Orion Communities kriskeller99@gmail.com
Wendy Kelly Grimes African Methodist Episcopal Church wkelly02124@yahoo.com
Rev. Jack Mason University of Valley Forge jmasonag@aol.com
Rev. Koshy Mathews St. Peters Episcopal Church koshy.mathews@gmail.com
Joann McCracken Phoenixville Area Senior Center JoAnn@phoenixvilleseniorcenter.org
Abigail C. Milbourne First Latin Church of Crist t.a.milbourne@hotmail.com
Karen Spector, RN Phoenixville Hospital Karen.Spector@towerhealth.org
Peter Urscheler Borough of Phoenixville purscheler@235bridge.com
Deidre Wood Greater Philadelphia YMCA dwood@philaymca.org

Rev. Mark Young

 

First United Methodist Church of Phoenixville

 

alvkrinst@aol.com

 

Community members may contact any Social Concerns Committee member to bring forward issues, observations or questions.  Or, send us an email at info@phxsocialconcerns.org.   The Social Concerns Committee meets regularly each month (except July & August) at the Phoenixville Community Health Foundation on the first Thursday beginning at 3:00pm.  Regular meeting dates are subject to change.

 !TICKETS ON SALE!

25th Annual Community Prayer Breakfast

Saturday, April 6, 2019

Phoenixville Area Middle School Cafeteria, 7:45 am

Theme:  “Living My Dream of Social Justice”

Keynote by:  Frank Cervone, Support Center for Child Advocates

Tickets:  $12 per person; Reserved Table $125 (seats 8)